Industrial-Military Complex Hex

Speaking of industrial-military complexes (see recent posts on Dwight Eisenhower’s warnings of the rise and abuse of industrial-military complex power) …

I was reminded of a song produced many years ago by the Steve Miller Band on an album entitled Number 5. The song is Industrial-Military Complex Hex. It, along with Jackson-Kent Blues Blues and I’ll Never Kill Another Man, were surprisingly anti-war. Of course, it was 1970.

Fast forward to 2009 ….

***********************************************************

Industrial MIlitary Complex Hex

Feel like I’m livin’ under some kind of hex
Livin’ in here in this industrial military complex
Doesn’t really help when I read Time magazine
Cause they only distort the scene
The sky is so hazy I can’t even see the sun
Livin’ here is like livin’ under a gun
I really do wonder ’bout the United Nations
Why don’t they face the situations

 

I’m a troubadour
Lookin’ for a dream
I’m a troubadour
Lookin’ for some dream

Lord, I’m so tired of payin’ all of these dues
From Sunday to Sunday all I hear is bad news
Tired of the war and those industrial fools
Got to make it better cause I’ve got nothin’ to lose

 

Ain’t too clear to pay my income taxes
‘Specially when I know it goes to kill the masses
Love to hear the President make it perfectly clear
How the donkeys and the elephants are police up here

I’m a troubadour
Lookin for a dream
I’m a troubadour
Lookin for some dream

Lord, I’m so tired of payin’ all of these dues
From Sunday to Sunday all I hear is bad news
Tired of the war and those industrial fools
I’ve got to make it better cause I’ve got nothin’ lose
Won’t somebody help me cause I’ve gotten in my shoes
Those industrial military complex blues

(Steve Miller Band, Number 5 , 1970)

Explore posts in the same categories: Economics, Labor, Politics, Social-Economic Justice, Videos

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

