On A Progressive Learning Curve

I have to admit that I do not know a lot about business, economics, or the day-in and day-out workings of government. But, there are two things that I do know.

The first thing I know is that our nation is suffering economically. This suffering is referred to as The Great Recession, the worst economic condition that our nation has been in since The Great Depression. That suffering expresses itself as unemployment, under-employment, home foreclosures, austerity programs, a growing inequality gap, and attacks on working people and unions.

The second thing I know is that I must become better educated and informed about the critical political-economic-community issues that face our nation and our people. Not just to be better educated. But educated in order to become an advocate for, and involved in, progressive change in our country.

With a view toward educating myself, I have discovered and have begun reading and studying on-line magazine articles, blogs, Facebook posts, and Tweets that address the issues above. These materials are, admittedly, progressive, left-of-center resources. I have chosen them because they represent a perspective that is opposite the dominant one we hear on and read in the main-line media. There are many books on these subjects I would like to purchase, but income prohibits that.

Some of these resources include Dollars and Sense, Economic Policy Institute, Inequality.org, Labor NotesRichard Wolff, Robert Reich, the United Steel Workers blog, and Truthout.

If you know of any material you think would benefit me as I endeavor to educate myself along progressive lines, please feel free to share them. I would appreciate your suggestions.

*******************

“‘Educate yourselves because we’ll need all your intelligence. Agitate because we’ll need all your enthusiasm. Organize yourselves because we’ll need all your strength.” – Antonio Gramsci

Explore posts in the same categories: Economics, Labor, Politics, Poverty, Social-Economic Justice, Uncategorized, Unions

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

